End of Week 1 & Barcelona Pride

Week 1 of TEFL is completed but Jesus, this week really took it out of me! 10.30am – 6.30pm is heavy. It’s honestly such an intensive and tiring course but I’m so glad I’m doing it. I taught one more class this week, it was a Dragons Den themed activity with an upper-intermediate class –  they had to talk about new inventions, learn some business related vocabulary (Even I still don’t know what equity is) and then pitch their own invention. I thought at the time that it went terribly (The students were great, I just thought I was an awful teacher) and I so wasn’t happy with it, but my feedback wasn’t as bad as I’d thought.  Next weeks teaching schedule is a bit calmer, but it turns out I’m teaching an hours long private class, which thankfully isn’t observed.

Friday night I decided to go to the beach for sunset with a girl on my course (Bethany), Jessie and some of her flatmates. It was such a nice way to end the week, despite still feeling really run down and gross.

Screen Shot 2016-07-10 at 10.55.30
Friday’s trip to the beach!

I started my first free day on Saturday by having an hour’s long walk by myself around the Gothic Quarter. It’s such a beautiful part of town, filled with history and culture. It was nice just to spend some time by myself and endlessly wandering around a new place. I ended up walking around Barcelona’s Cathedral – Lord knows I love any sort of pre 15th century church.

Screen Shot 2016-07-10 at 10.55.40

Then, it was #PrideBarcelona. Jessie, some of her flatmates and some of her flatmates friends decided to all go together. We started drinking at 3pm, painted our faces with pride flags and headed out to the parade. It started at Placa Espanya and it was essentially just a massive march down to near the port where everything concluded with a massive party. I had such an amazing time – you can’t shake a stick at dancing down the street and drinking 3 litres of rum and lemonade in 30 degree heat. The floats were repeatedly spraying us with their water pistols to keep us cool and would sporadically throw sweets and confetti at us. There was such a mixed representation there as well which was so nice to see. There was a special focus on Trans visibility this year and a lot of banners were dedicated to the victims of Orlando.

 

After crawling home in a weird drunken, tired and dehydrated mess, I passed out asleep at 11:30pm. Pride ruined me, I’m so tired.

One thought on “End of Week 1 & Barcelona Pride

Leave a Reply

