Week 2 in Barcelona & Villelongue dels Monts

 

The day after Pride, Jessie and I decided to take a walk around Parc de la Cuitadella. Seeing as I’m stuck in class 10am until 7pm most days during the week, and too tired to do anything after school, it was nice to finally get out and about on Sunday and explore a little bit more of Barcelona. When I first decided to do this TEFL course, I didn’t realise how much little free time I would have. After being completely ripped off and paying 3€ for a bottle of water, we took a stroll around the park and of course took many a picture of the famous fountain in the centre. Alas, the trip didn’t last too long considering it was 32 degrees with very little breeze and I was suffering a slight hangover from Pride the day before. We took refugee in a little restaurant with a small verander in the shade and had some slow cooked braised beef and “straw” fries. The heat and the tiredness from the day before completed whacked me out, so I headed back home and crashed out. (I did infact find myself at a bar in the evening with my course friends watching the EURO 2016 final, who thought that would ever happen)

My second week of TEFL then commenced and there was no sign of holding up on the work loads. On Tuesday, I taught a private class to a 40 year old Italian man called Stefano in a local cafe. I had to assess his language ability and his lexical and grammatical problem areas and I’ll be creating a lesson for him next week to work on those. He’s really nice and he seems really eager to learn English, which only helps. My input sessions ranged this week from the teaching of pronounciation by using the phonetic alphabet to how to teach receptive skills. Talk of assessments and exams have started as well, so I’m pretty sure it’s just going to get busier from here on out.

To celebrate the end of the week on Friday, everyone on my course popped to the bar next door to the school for a drink! Everyone was pretty shattered but it was nice for us all to get together to celebrate surviving another week of TEFL.

IMG_3688
My TEFL coursemates!

Then, straight after drinks, Jessie and I jumped on a train and are currently taking a 2 day trip to Villelongue-dels-Monts where her parents have a house. It’s so nice to get out of the city and away from the constant sound of traffic and have a bit of down time. I slept really well for the first time in 2 weeks and have finally  had chance to stop and think about my time in Barcelona. It only took an hour by train and then an 45 minutes or so by car to get here and it’s so nice.

Fun fact of this week: When I got home one evening, I partially locked the front door (it’s a bolt lock). One of my flatmates got home at 6:10am and he couldn’t get his key in to unlock it. So he had to go to the roof of the building, scale down the building onto our sun terrace and then sleep there until 9am when I let him in – I’ve never felt so bad in my entire life.

See ya x

7 thoughts on “Week 2 in Barcelona & Villelongue dels Monts

    1. Keep an idea on my blog, I’ll be posting more as the course progresses! it’s been amazing so far – I have 10 hours of real life teaching incorporated into my course so I’m really putting to use everything I learn!

      Like

  1. Morning dude, always nice to read about your journey in Barcelona. You’ve got me a little interested – could you share a link to the tefl course you’re doing ? I’d really appreciate that ! thanks – Liam,

    Like

      1. The accommodation is arranged by the school! I’ve ended up in a flat with two Spanish guys so I can practice my Spanish while I’m here 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

