Food / What I Ate Today

After an extremely gluttonous couple weeks filled with meat, rich sauces and a lot of chocolate – I decided it was about time for a change. My diet was starting to get me really down and I just felt really lethargic and heavy so I decided to go on a health kick and also, turn pescatarian. Something about eating meat just wasn’t sitting with me, morally and in terms of my body/overall health, so I decided to cut it out completely.

I’ve spent the last couple of weeks (and years really, it’s always been an interest of mine), looking at healthy recipes and “What I Ate Today” blogs, so I thought I would make one for you guys. I know they’re a bit cringey really, but seeing as I’m always scrolling through them, I may as well! I realise this isn’t a very curated “What I Ate” so please go to Deliciously Ella’s blog if you actually want some awe inspiring lifestyle inspiration.

Breakfast!

img_5772

Seeing as I don’t start work until 4pm, it means I can take my time with breakfast and make something substantial and actually nice, instead of just jam on bread! This morning I had half an avocado, two eggs scrambled with salt and pepper, fried mushrooms with wilted spinach, two small slices of toast and a regular cup of black coffee. This breakfast was super easy to make and set me up until my lunch at 5pm.

Lunch!

img_5775

Don’t get me wrong, this doesn’t look great, I’ll grant you that. And maybe a bit boring too. But it is super easy to make and actually tasty, and filling. I had cooked off loads of quinoa the night before so used the leftovers, with a tin of tuna, I then just mixed in some chopped cucumber and tomatoes, with a bit of iceberg lettuce and ‘mixed leaves’ (You know the weird bag of lettuce-looking stuff lazy people buy in a super market when they can’t be bothered to make actual salad?).

Snacks!

img_5777

I tend to lose all will to live at around 7:30pm/8pm when I’m at work, so I make sure I take something to snack on. Today, I opted for a bag of toasted pistachios (without salt – I obviously didn’t eat these all), an apple and I make sure I drink 1.5litres of water during the day!

Dinner/Tea! (Whatever you call it)

img_5786

I actually prepped the potatoes and the broccoli during the day before work, just to save myself a bit of time. So, for dinner, I boiled broccoli with potatoes (covered in a bit of oil, salt, pepper and garlic) with brown rice, two small fried cod fillets with a ‘salsa de piquillo’ (which is essentially a red pepper sauce). It looks a mess I know, I’m not very good when it comes to organising my food in an Instagrammable way, so forgive me.

Anyway, this has been a bit of weird blog to write and you’ve probably hated it. It’s okay, I’ll never do this again.

See ya x

4 thoughts on “Food / What I Ate Today

Leave a Reply

