Seville Series / Mr. Cake

It’s been a good couple of weeks since I’ve been added to the Seville Series section of my blog and I thought today I would give you another personal recommendation of things I have loved so far in Seville. Previously it was an attraction, the Alcazar (give it a read!), but today it’s a small and very much independent cake shop, the aptly named Mr. Cake.

I came across this place about 2 weeks ago when I was just strolling around one of Seville’s many tiny side streets when I was out shopping with my friend Katherine. From the outside, it appears very small indeed. And, appearances certainly do not deceive in this case. It has a very small seating area (Of about 9 seats, not together) but don’t let this put you off. They have a surprisingly large wide range of mouth-watering and beautiful cakes considering the size of the shop. When I last went in they had things like the classic Red Velvet to more seasonable flavours such as Pumpkin and Caramel, meaning I had to stand there for a couple minutes and decide which one I wanted (It was one of the hardest decisions I’ve made since I’ve got to Seville!). At 3€ a slice, and a coffee around 1.20-50€, it’s a very inexpensive when you consider how incredible the cakes are.

A person recommendation from me has to be either the Apple, Caramel and White chocolate or the New York Cheesecake (both pictured above), both equally as incredible.

If you can’t manage to get a seat inside, they do sell cake to go (what a blessing) and the other day I’m pretty sure I saw someone buy an entire cake for a special occasion.

So, if you do have an afternoon free and a sucker for a good cake just like I am, definitely try and give Mr. Cake over on Calle Santa Bárbara a visit!

I’m going to try and spend a lot more time in Sevilla from now on (I feel like I’ve ignored it a bit recently) so expect more Seville Series blogs coming up.

See ya!

6 thoughts on “Seville Series / Mr. Cake

  1. Great post. I’ve been in Seville for 13 years, so I think I’ve spent far too much time here recently. Luckily I’ve moved out the centre now though; I feel like I’m in a completely different place. Love the sound of Mr Cake, will try get down there and check it out. Thanks for the post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

