Easy Vegetarian Date Night

A lot of travel blogs can get repetitive and annoying so I thought I would write this little blog for you –  a realistic vegetarian date night.

So many times I’d be browsing through blogs and YouTube videos trying to find recipe ideas for nice meals-in with either friends or my boyfriend and every time I do, I come across 8374238 ideas of completely unrealistic things with ingredients that are literally possible to source. So, I thought I would do a very much realistic and vegetarian date night meal idea.

First things first, we started off with homemade guacamole and chips. To make, you just need to hollow out two large avocados and mush them all together. Mix in some salt, pepper (paprika if you want, too) and olive oil. Then finely diced up on tomatoes and chuck them in for good measure. I’d normally add in some red onion but it seems Spain doesn’t sell them very often. I would also normally add a splash of lemon juice, but I didn’t have any (Thanks Spain.) It’s surprisingly super easy to make and now knowing this, never will I ever buy shop bought guacamole ever again. Serve with a big bag of tortilla chips and you’ve got yourself a starter.

img_5987

Then for your main, it’s vegetarian fajita time. One large onion decided and fried, roughly chopped (or hand torn mushrooms) with two variants of peppers. Chuck in salt, pepper, two diced cloves of garlic and some fajita mix and hey presto, there you have it. When it comes to the fajita, I don’t like putting them in the microwave. Instead, heat a pan on a medium heat with no oil or anything else in it, and give them 5 seconds on eat side to heat and slightly brown. Serve the fajita with a mixed salad, salsa and grated cheese to put in the wraps when you come to make them.

As a little accompaniment to the fajita, I made something new to me. Honey-ed sweet potatoes. Part boil them for about 7-8 minutes, cover them in honey, salt, pepper and either fry them or roast them for about 10-15 minutes until they’re brown. A nice alternative to sweet potato fries.

img_5988

I must admit that we did in fact just finish up with a tub of Ben and Jerrys (Yes, I know it’s unhealthy. Yes, I know it’s terrible for you. I know I shouldn’t have and I’m sorry)

I don’t know if you guys find these sort of blogs interesting so let me know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

