What I miss about England

Take a look at my Instagram or Twitter (or even my blog) and you’d be pretty surprised that there are some parts of English life that I am actually missing. Living in Spain is incredible and even being able to go on a year abroad is an amazing opportunity which many people don’t have, but you can’t blame me for missing some things about home. Well, not even home all the time, just England really.

Understanding things in supermarkets – When I first arrived here in Spain and went to the supermarket for the first time, I don’t know what it was but I was so completely lost. There was so many products and I just had absolutely no clue what they were or what to do with them. Spain doesn’t even have that much of a wildly different culture than England (compared to somewhere like China anyway), so I don’t know why I was so lost at the sight of some pickled peppers and an unhealthy amount of lentils. I’m now starting to get used to supermarkets here but it’s still difficult to work out what to cook.

English Brands – Where are the Jaffa Cakes, chocolate covered Hobnobs, Viennese Swirls, Twinnings English Breakfast Tea, Robinsons’ Fruit Squash, Cadburys Chocolate, Crunchy Nut? Why is Ben & Jerrys nearly 7€ a tub? I just miss tiny little things that I would normally pick up at my local supermarket that I just can’t get here. I can’t wait to get back to England and raid Sainsburys. It’s the tiny things like that which make you miss home.

The Cold – I know, I know. If you’re in England now looking at my life in Spain, you’re probably going to be rolling your eyes at me. But, I do really miss English weather, especially autumn. So far, after 2 months in Spain (and it now being November), I am yet to experience anything but summer. If I was in England right now, I would have bought a new winter coat, a scarf, maybe some boots and loads of brown and ugly knitwear. But here, I am still in shorts and flip flops.

Everything being in Spanish – Even though I still speak English everyday, having to speak and read Spanish everyday does get tiring after a while. I do just miss walking into restaurant and knowing exactly what a dish is. I hate that I’ll be sat there needing to ask for something and having a mild panic attack beforehand or looking up the word for something on my phone. I just miss the ease of understanding everything. It’s not a nice feeling not understanding things in the place you’re meant to call home.

Not being asked about Brexit – It’s like whenever you meet a Spaniard, the first words out of their mouth is “What do you think about Brexit?”. Too many a time I have been asked my viewpoint and asked about how England is coping etc. and I guess I just miss not having to justify the opinion of 52% of the population on a daily basis.

Bloody kettles and fresh milk (A cup of tea, essentially) – I don’t have a kettle in my flat (nor an oven, but that’s a matter for another blog) and I’ve come to realise that they’re just not a thing here. I know you’re probably wondering why I’m moaning about kettles, but when you don’t have them, you really miss them. Every night I stand at the hob, waiting for a pan of water to boil for a solid 10 minutes. Also, I miss fresh milk, another thing the Spaniards haven’t quite grasped yet. All of the above meaning I haven’t had a proper cuppa in months, months I tell you.

6 thoughts on “What I miss about England

  1. I remember missing those very things when I first moved to Spain (I lived there for 12 years and moved back to Blighty in 2007. There had been a terrible drought that year and when I visited England it was raining and everything was so green – those comforting tree tunnels in the road – the lambs springing and pub signs. However it did not take me long to get used to the Spanish brands of food – especially from Mercadona. Now I miss things from Spain: the tapas, flamenco, family life-style, fiestas, coffee, olive trees, picking oranges straight from the tree – salads that really taste of something. Hope you are not homesick for too long.

    Like

    1. It’s reassuring that it’s not only me that misses these things, I was going insane. Now you say it, I really miss pubs! Thank you so much for commenting and I’m hoping this homesick subsides too!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I can totally relate to this! Have you found you feel like your english is deteriorating? I remember when I first moved to Spain the whole immersion learning was great for my Spanish, but when I switched back to English I’d question myself!

    Top tip: if you’re in Madrid, go to Dealz. There are a few all over the city and they are essentially poundland! They sell all the same brans (including Jaffa cakes and cadburys and baked beans) AND proper english tea. I’m not sure if they have stores else where in Spain (check their website) but it was a life safer for those days when all I wanted was a taste of home.

    Also, the Bexit curse is everywhere. I’ve travelled from Brazil to Chile and the question has never failed to creep its way into conversation. Joy!

    http://Www.thecandidnomad.com

    Like

    1. Wow, those are some travel movements you’ve had, sounds amazing. You’re more than right, tea is everything and calms every part of you. You can take the Brit out of Britain but you can’t take the Britain out the Brit.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

