Catch up & Missing home

hello, hello, hello.

Before you say it, I know it’s been nearly a month since my last blog and I know, I’m a terrible, terrible person but I do have my reasons. First of all and most importantly, my money dried the hell up meaning my travelling drastically decreased, and as a result, my life got considerably less interesting. I really pushed the limits of my overdraft with all the travelling I’d been doing!

But, what have I been up to since last time? Well, I have actually been away contrary to what I just said. It was parent’s wedding anniversary recently so a couple of weekends ago, I took a very short flight to Lanzarote in the Canary Islands to pay them a visit. They were renting a villa out there, in Playa Blanca, so I thought it would only be polite to go stay with them for 3 nights between shifts at work. After the couple of weeks I had had prior, it was just what I needed. I hadn’t seen my family for 3 months and it was the longest time that I’d ever been without them – it was so nice. Essentially I just spent my time eating, drinking and sleeping so there isn’t really much to report on that trip. I’ve been to Lanzarote a lot before (every family holiday when I was younger was spent there so I’ve pretty much already seen everything to see there). However, I do have some photos! It is such a beautiful island.

After I got back, life here in Sevilla got very relaxed, very quickly. It turns out that Spain LOVES a public holiday and HATES working so I’ve had a lot of time off to relax and spend a bit more time in Sevilla. I must admit, I had kind of neglected this beautiful city that I now call my home. With all the travelling I’d been doing, I’d hardly spent any time here at all. It’s been nice just to stay here and settle properly, go out, see some friends, rest, that sort of thing. Although I must admit, I do seriously miss the travelling. Expect many a travel blog next semester. Jerez, Jaen, Madrid, Amsterdam, Lisbon, Porto and Rome are on my hit list for definite.

On a separate note, despite it being 15-20 degrees most days still, Christmas has now very much arrived. It’s definitely bizarre walking around a Christmas market, ice skating and drinking hot chocolate when it’s still warm outside?

With all this Christmas business going on here in Sevilla, I am now extremely missing England and all of it’s Christmasy vibes. I’m heading home next Friday (23/12) and I couldn’t be more excited. Weirdly, I have never been so excited to be back in my village with my family and friends. It feels as if I’ve just completely given up with Spain right now, which is terrible I know, but I’m so over the fact that I live here now. I just want some familiarity and homeliness in my life. I’m sure once I’ve been home for a week or so I will be reenergised and ready for another 3/4 months in Spain but right now, it’s just not happening. I can’t be the only one though, right?

Anyway, I’ll be blogging again in a couple of days with an end of semester type blog with my thoughts and feelings on the last 3 months and my wants for the semester ahead, so keep an eye out for that!

See ya!

One thought on “Catch up & Missing home

Leave a Reply

